Getting a DUI is never a pleasant experience. It is a dangerous situation to be involved in, and while it is no laughing matter, we are here to help. Each state in the United States has its own way of dealing with DUIs and other related charges, and Florida is no different.
In Florida, for the state to prove that a person is driving under the influence of alcohol, the person’s normal faculties must be impaired, which generally means that, while driving, they were not in a normal mental state that allowed them to drive safely, or their blood alcohol (BAC) level was above 0.8.
Penalties for first-time DUIs in Florida include paying fines, community service, license suspension, driving school and possibly probation. While the state can send a person accused of driving under the influence of alcohol to jail, it is very uncommon in first-time DUI cases. In fact, with the proper representation and a zealous advocate, courts sometimes most reduce charges or dismiss cases.
Fines for first-time DUIs
If the state convicts you of a first-time DUI, you will have to pay a fine between $500 to $2000. If the circumstances are such that they elevate the seriousness of the case (for example, a child was in the car with you or your BAC level was .15 or higher), the court may assess a higher fine, between $2000 to $4000.
Of course, all of the above is generic information and does not consider the differences when you have legal representation and an experienced, zealous advocate who will fight for you. In many cases, we have seen the court reduce or drop first-time DUI charges.
DUIs are serious offenses, but they do not have to mean the end of your standing as a responsible, law-abiding citizen. Mistakes happen, and we are here to help you get through them.