Most crimes that involve stolen property fall under the theft laws in Florida. The state distinguishes between petty theft and grand theft based on the value of the stolen items.
Review the definitions of and possible penalties for Florida theft-related crimes.
State law recognizes two degrees of petty theft, both misdemeanor charges for a first offense. Second-degree petty theft involves property worth less than $100. A convicted offender could receive a maximum of 60 days in jail and fines of up to $500.
First-degree petty theft applies when the stolen property has a value of $100 to $299. A convicted offender could receive up to 12 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. In addition to these penalties, a second theft conviction constitutes a third-degree felony in Florida.
Florida law establishes three degrees of grand theft. The state can pursue third-degree grand theft charges for theft of:
- Property with a value from $300 to $19,999
- Anhydrous ammonia
- Construction signs
- Stop signs
- More than 2,000 pieces of fruit
- A fire extinguisher
- A farm animal
- A motor vehicle
- A weapon
A conviction for this crime carries up to five years in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. Second-degree grand theft applies to property with a value of $20,000 to $99,999 and carries up to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. First-degree grand theft charges result from theft of items valued above $100,000. A convicted offender could receive up to 30 years in prison.
Editor note: The weapon link is not the most appropriate but the client does not have an internal practice page for theft although it is included on the EBP sheet.