Drivers who face a charge of driving under the influence in Florida have the opportunity to defend their rights in court. This type of conviction can result after an arrest for blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher or obvious impairment behind the wheel.
Before going to court for this type of charge, review the legal penalties that Florida imposes for DUI convictions.
No prior DUIs
A person who has no DUI history can receive the following penalties for a conviction:
- 180-day to 12-month license suspension
- Vehicle impoundment for 10 days
- Six to nine months in jail depending on the circumstances of the case
- A fine of $500 to $2,000 depending on the circumstances of the case
Generally, higher penalties apply when the person had a BAC of 0.15% or higher or had a minor in the car at the time of the arrest.
One previous DUI
Individuals who have a DUI within the past five years could receive these legal consequences:
- Five-year license suspension
- Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
- Mandatory minimum of 10 days and up to 12 months in jail depending on the circumstances of the case
- A fine of $1,000 to $4,000 depending on the circumstances of the case
Two previous DUIs
A person who has two previous offenses in the past decade will receive a mandatory minimum 10-year license suspension. The court will also impose at least 30 days in prison, 90-day vehicle impoundment and fines of up to $5,000.
Prison time will also apply to DUI convictions involving serious bodily injury. Florida offers residential drug treatment to some qualifying DUI offenders.