Florida penalties for driving under the influence vary based on the person’s driving history, the circumstances of the arrest and other factors. DUI applies to cases involving blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher or obvious impairment by drugs or alcohol.
Defendants should review the possible legal consequences of a DUI in Florida before facing a court date for this offense.
No prior DUIs
Convicted individuals with no prior DUIs can receive a fine of $500 to $1,000 and up to six months in jail. The state will also revoke the person’s license for a minimum of 180 days along with a 10-day vehicle impoundment.
One prior DUI
With a single previous conviction within the past five years, a driver can receive a fine of $1,000 to $2,000 for a second DUI. The state also imposes a mandatory 10-day jail sentence, five-year license suspension and 30-day vehicle impoundment.
Additional DUI convictions within the same decade can result in fines of $2,000 to $5,000 for each offense. The judge can also order a minimum 30-day prison sentence and 10-year license revocation.
Florida can increase these base penalties for certain types of offenses. For example, higher charges apply to transporting a minor while impaired, causing an injury or death while impaired, and BAC of 0.15% or higher at the time of arrest. In other cases, the offender may qualify for probation or lesser charges, especially after completing an available diversion program such as substance use treatment or DUI court.