McIntosh Law
Speak With Our Attorneys -
Phone: 941-306-3230
View Our Practice Areas

How Florida handles impaired driving crashes with injuries

Anytime someone gets behind the wheel after ingesting enough alcohol, narcotic drugs or prescription medication to impact their driving, they violate Florida law and run the risk of criminal prosecution. They could also injure others or cause property damage, leaving them with potential financial liability as a result.

Allegations of driving under the influence (DUI) can lead to various charges, even if the person driving simply got pulled over by police or caught up in a sobriety checkpoint. However, not all drunk drivers get caught due to random enforcement efforts by law enforcement officers.

Some drunk drivers get caught because they cause a crash that results in injuries to other people or property damage. Causing a crash is an aggravating factor for DUI charges under Florida law. If you get charged with a DUI in a crash that resulted in injuries or property damage, you can expect to face more serious consequences than a standard DUI charge would carry.

Property damage or injury could mean a Class A misdemeanor

The exact charges and consequences you have to worry about in a DUI case depend on your previous driving record. The more impaired driving charges you've had in the past, the more consequences you will face for your charges. In fact, if you have had three or more previous impaired driving charges, instead of a misdemeanor, you may face felony DUI charges.

Even if you have a perfectly clean criminal record and no DUI charges in your record, an impaired driving incident that results in property damage or injury to others will immediately qualify for upgraded penalties and charges.

You will likely face a Class A misdemeanor, which carries as much as a year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. There will also be the loss of your license to consider, as well as extra costs when you do regain your license and secure car insurance. Additionally, the other party may be able to bring civil action against you in the Florida courts if their financial losses exceed the insurance coverage you have on your vehicle.

When someone dies because of a drunk driving crash, the penalties are severe

Many factors will influence how the courts charge you after an alleged impaired driving incident that results in a fatality. In some cases, the state may charge you with a DUI manslaughter charge, which is a second-degree felony.

Many factors, including your criminal history and the exact circumstances of the crash will influence how the court sentences someone accused of a DUI manslaughter charge. In some cases, the prosecutor or courts may allege vehicular homicide instead of DUI manslaughter. That charge is also a second-degree felony with the same theoretical potential penalties, including up to 15 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
  • Avvo Rating 9.6 | Brett Donald McIntosh | Top Attorney
  • Avvo | Clients' Choice Award 2016 | Brett Donald McIntosh
  • Reviews | 5 stars Out of 16 reviews | Brett Donald McIntosh | Avvo
Email Us For A Response

Get Started Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Location:

McIntosh Law
766 Hudson Avenue
Suite B
Sarasota, FL 34236

Toll Free: 866-943-0466
Phone: 941-306-3230
Fax: 941-957-0706
Sarasota Law Office Map