If you’re caught with cocaine or were attempting to sell it, you could face serious penalties in the state of Florida. It’s not always easy to defend yourself from a drug crime, but fortunately, there are drug courts in the state that you could go through if this is a first-time offense or if the prosecution and your defense attorney can come to an agreement.
Cocaine is particularly bad when it comes to charges because it is an illicit drug. Cocaine is a Schedule I drug, which means that there is no medical purpose for the drug recognized in the United States. If you’re caught with this drug, you could face harsh penalties. For example, Florida law states that possessing less than 28 grams of cocaine is a 3rd degree felony. If you have 28 grams or more, you’ll be accused of trafficking cocaine, which is a 1st-degree felony.
Selling cocaine is a serious offense in Florida. You’ll face 2nd degree felonies for selling cocaine, and if you sell near a school, park or other protected areas, you’re likely to face more severe punishments.
Trafficking is the most serious offense. Drug trafficking potentially leads to life in prison. According to Florida’s current laws, trafficking up to 200 grams comes with a $50,000 fine and three years in prison. Trafficking 200 to 400 grams leads to seven years in prison and a fine of $100,000. Trafficking 400 grams to 150 kilograms leads to $250,000 in fines and 15 years in prison. Finally, trafficking 150 kilograms or more leads to the potential for lifetime imprisonment.
Source: FindLaw, “Florida Cocaine Laws,” accessed April 04, 2018