You wanted to try marijuana, and you think it would help you relax. You went to Colorado and enjoyed trying it there, but now, in Florida, you think it is harmless, too.
Unfortunately, marijuana is legal in many places, but it is not yet legal in Florida. Even simple possession of marijuana can lead to charges and potential incarceration. For instance, did you know that possessing 20 grams and under could result in up to a year in prison and a fine of up to $1,000?
Possession isn’t the only kind of marijuana-related crime that you could face heavy penalties for. Selling marijuana results in felonies in most cases and could lead to up to 30 years in prison. For example, if you are caught with 25 pounds or less of marijuana in your possession and are trying to sell it, you will be charged with a felony and could be penalized with a $5,000 fine and up to five years in prison. Selling any amount within 1,000 feet of a school, park, college or other specified areas could lead to 15 years in prison and felony charges. The fine jumps to $10,000.
Hash and concentrates are also restricted in Florida. It’s a felony to possess, manufacture, deliver or sell hash or concentrates in the state. The maximum fine is $5,000, and the maximum prison sentence is up to 5 years. Our site has more on what to do if you face charges for possessing, selling or growing marijuana in Florida. A good defense is important to protect your rights.