Since marijuana is not legal in every state, there’s a chance you could be caught with it and arrested or jailed. In Florida, that is certainly the case. You could face fines, damage to your reputation and other penalties.
Possessing marijuana in Florida is a misdemeanor if you’re in possession of 20 grams or less. The misdemeanor may result in up to a year of incarceration and a maximum fine of $1,000. If you’re caught in possession of over 20 grams and up to 25 pounds of marijuana, you could face up to five years in prison with a $5,000 fine. This is a felony charge.
If you are ever caught with more than 25 pounds of marijuana, there is a mandatory minimum sentence of three years. That sentence can be extended up to 15 years, which is why it’s a good idea to defend yourself and to have a strong understanding of the law. The felony charge could cost you up to $25,000.
Selling marijuana is a more serious offense. As a result, if you’re caught selling 25 pounds or less, you face a felony. Very small amounts, including amounts of 20 grams or less, may result in a misdemeanor charge. With a felony for selling 25 pounds or less of marijuana, you face up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. On the higher end, if you’re caught selling 10,000 pounds or more or are caught selling within 1,000 feet of a school, you could face 15 years in prison. For sales of over 10,000 pounds, you could face a penalty of up to 30 years in prison along with a $200,000 fine.
Source: Normal, “Florida Laws and Penalties,” accessed Nov. 28, 2017