Understanding DUI Penalties In Florida
In Florida, the penalties for a DUI can be harsh. Judges must impose certain minimum penalties and must adjudicate the driver guilty unless a skillful attorney can negotiate a plea to reckless driving or some other offense.
The experienced attorneys at McIntosh Law in Sarasota can help you fight your DUI. Attorney McIntosh is a trained specialist in blood forensic testing. This comprehensive understanding of DUI procedures allows us to establish a strong defense strategy on your behalf.
Consequences Of A DUI Conviction
- For a first conviction: You may face a fine of no less than $500 and a maximum of $1,000. Additional penalties include probation time, DUI school and driver license suspension.
- For a second conviction: For a conviction within five years, mandatory jail time and fines increase significantly, and your license may be suspended for five years.
- A third conviction: If the third conviction occurs within 10 years, it can result in the loss of your license for life and no less than 30 days in jail. However, many judges impose harsher penalties than the minimum required.
The important thing to remember is that the penalties escalate with each successive conviction. Successfully challenging the first DUI arrest becomes critical.
Fighting Your DUI In Sarasota
A DUI conviction follows you for life. There is no way to erase or expunge it. Do not take the easy way out and plead guilty without consulting an experience attorney. Hiring a good lawyer now can save you from a lifetime record that can affect job opportunities and your future.
Contact the attorneys of McIntosh Law today at 941-306-3230 or via email to schedule an initial consultation today.